Skip to content

Mushroom, Cashew and Ginger Bake

May 6, 2012

As you may have noticed, I write rather a lot about flavour combinations. Since few ingredients can bring enough flavour to make a great dish, it is important they have a partner in gastronomic crime. In my mind, there are two distinct types of flavour combination; those that contrast and those that compliment. My previous post, double chocolate cookie bites, is a fantastic example of a contrasting partnership. Happily, for the sake of variation, this recipe exhibits a complimentary culinary combination. Indeed, if one were to visit one’s local green grocers in the dead of night whilst under the influence of a potentially deadly squint, one would almost be able to discern a mushroom and a knob of ginger strolling gaily through the aisles. Perhaps I’ve been indulging in a little too much Toy Story.

You may be under the illusion that cashew nuts tend to cost a pretty penny. However, as usual, I am in possession of a tip or two regarding the previously mentioned misapprehension. On entering one’s local ‘nut aisle’, one will notice that unsalted nuts tend to be far more expensive than their salted counterparts. It would be both idiotic and shameful to ratify in any way the absurd levying of prices attached to what is seen as a healthier product. If anything, wouldn’t it make more sense, morally, to make such products cheaper? Digressions aside, these cashews, in my limited experience, aren’t of superior quality. As such, to save money one must simply purchase the supposedly inferior product and give it a jolly thorough rinse. Before you know it, Bob will be your uncle and you’ll have a socking great, delicious mushroom bake sitting before you.

Mushroom, Cashew and Ginger Bake

Serves 4

Ingredients:

• 250g chestnut mushrooms, quartered

• 135g breadcrumbs

• 100g cashew nuts, halved

• 2 onions, finely chopped

• 1-2 chillies, taste dependent

• 2 cloves of garlic

• A thumb of ginger

• 1 egg, beaten

• Salt and pepper

• Olive oil

Method:

1. Begin by frying off the mushrooms in a little oil for around 5-7 minutes; this will reduce the amount of water they contain.

2. Place the breadcrumbs in a mixing bowl, blitz the mushrooms in a food processor and add to the breadcrumbs. Blitz the chillies, garlic and ginger and fry for 5 minutes together with the onions. Tip this into the mushroom mixture along with the egg and cashews. Mix thoroughly and season well. Press into a baking dish and cook for 30 minutes at 200C.

Cost: Mushrooms always tend to be rather inexpensive here. If chestnut mushrooms are a little pricy where you live, use which ever variety is cheapest. If this advice, along with that given in regard to cashew nuts, is followed this bake should cost one roughly £2.10.

48 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2012 5:58 pm

    Yum! I just made a similar meal last night actually with lentils and no nuts – this looks amazing and I love anything baked with cashews – this looks awesome and the ginger is an unexpected and tasty sounding twist!

    • May 6, 2012 10:06 pm

      Oh very nice. I shall have to try a lentil bake! I adore lentils. The ginger works SO well.

  2. May 6, 2012 6:24 pm

    I agree with your school of thought on taste partnerships (so to speak) though this is yet another post that makes me resent my partner for his nut allergy! Your dishes always look lovely and proudly presented and, here, reminds me that it’s been far too long since I ate mushrooms which I suddenly feel very sinful for.

  3. May 6, 2012 7:56 pm

    I love your pictures, especially on this blog!

  4. May 7, 2012 1:39 am

    Loving this, Nick! I shall make it for my dinner and movie night while watching “Toy Story” 🙂

  5. May 7, 2012 2:10 am

    I could get fat just reading your blog! 😀 I love your food photos. They are mouth watering.

  6. Can't live without.... permalink
    May 7, 2012 4:16 am

    Quite an unusual combination..with all three of my favorites!!!

  7. May 7, 2012 4:28 am

    Wow this sounds sooo delicious! And healthy too. I think I’m going to have to add it to my menu this week. Hopefully I can get my picky husband to eat it.

  8. May 7, 2012 10:05 am

    I can’t wait to try this! I love the unexpected mixture of the ginger wtih mushrooms and walnuts. Delish!

  9. May 7, 2012 12:48 pm

    That shot of the mushrooms in the pan is enough to make me hungry. What a great dish.

  10. May 7, 2012 1:15 pm

    This recipe sounds so interesting and healthy too!

  11. May 7, 2012 5:40 pm

    I just awarded you a One Lovely Blog award 🙂 Have a great day! http://jewelsincolorado.wordpress.com/2012/05/07/onelovelyblogaward/

  12. May 7, 2012 6:31 pm

    Easy, cheap and delicous – an all around fantastic post.

  13. May 8, 2012 12:19 am

    This looks really good, I might have to make this sometime!

  14. May 8, 2012 3:19 am

    you are totally right there that cashews should be cheaper than those addicting potato chip! i am loving this bake. ginger chilies and mushrooms and i am there!

  15. May 8, 2012 12:22 pm

    Great photos!

  16. machisan permalink
    May 8, 2012 4:14 pm

    Absolute yum! Gonna check them out this week.

  17. May 8, 2012 4:30 pm

    Look at you with the snazzy country/euro/chic photography. I LOVE IT. And, I want to eat this. The end.

  18. May 8, 2012 8:32 pm

    Great recipe with awsome photos…

  19. May 8, 2012 9:35 pm

    Lovely vegetarian dish, and very pretty presentation!

  20. May 9, 2012 3:56 pm

    What an inspiring dish! Great pics too. We have a big jar of cashews in the pantry for nibbling, but I rarely think of cooking with them. This is the kind of vegetarian recipe we like serving to our meat-loving friends. With so many beautiful flavors and a satisfying texture, they’ll never miss the meat. Love it! Thank you!

  21. May 9, 2012 11:08 pm

    Hum , I love cashews and mushrooms !
    I must try this recipe 🙂

  22. May 15, 2012 1:00 am

    this looks delish. i love dishes like this. packed with nutrients and flavor.

  23. May 22, 2012 5:52 am

    Oooh, this looks so interesting! And I adore your photography.

Leave a comment