Skip to content

Banana and Date Bread

March 4, 2012

As we all know, banana bread is one of those extremely useful recipes that most of us crack out when we wish to avoid waste. Indeed, for some unknown reason people often seem to be left, by the end of the week, with two or three rather brown and partially inedible bananas. It is as though they’ve read about their health benefits and have promptly forgotten their dislike for the unadulterated fruit. Still, this is a great way to use up those superfluous bananas that, in my opinion, renders the usual texture of the fruit bearable. In fact, perhaps one could go so far as to say that bananas rather improve the texture of cake, making it more dense and moist, thus avoiding in every way the process of drying-out.

The recipe for this bread can be found here. It is an adapted version of my earlier and extremely successful chocolate and banana loaf cake. In order to make the current version of banana bread one simply has to substitute the dark chocolate for 150g of chopped dates. However, for ease of appreciation the recipe shall be provided below.

The responsibility for the inclusion of dates in this recipe partly lies with Katherine; it was only after she had made this bread following another recipe that I attempted the same. Indeed, before making this cake I had never tried a date, so it was with some trepidation that the necessary act of sampling one was performed. As it turns out all fears were misplaced, dates are rather delicious and sweet, in a rather dark way. In fact, the darkness of the dates worked very well with the banana, in much the same way as the chocolate had. Not only that, but once cooked the dates become incredibly sticky and moist, combining with the banana to make, what I think is, a rather unbeatable banana bread.

Banana and Date Bread

Makes 1 2lb loaf tin cake

Ingredients:

• 230g/8oz self-raising flour

• 115g/4oz butter or stork

• 170g/6oz caster sugar, granulated will do

• 2 eggs

• 3 ripe bananas

• 150g dates, roughly chopped

Method:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C and grease a standard size 2lb loaf tin. Mash the bananas in a bowl. Separately, cream together the sugar and the butter, then mix in the eggs one by one. Fold the flour and dates into the sugar and butter, before combining with the bananas.

2. Spoon this into the loaf tin and cook for 40 minutes, before turning the over down to 150C and cooking for a further 30 minutes. Turn out and leave to cool before eating.

Cost: The cake should set one back around £2, but its real value is in preventing the waste of bananas. The word preventing always gives a sentence a charitable quality, don’t you think?

96 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 10:46 am

    oh that looks SCRUMPTIOUS!!!! I would have to substitute out the flour but oh my I love banana date bread :-))) Lovely pics, lovely recipe …

  2. throughthemagicdoor permalink
    March 4, 2012 10:53 am

    Ooh I do love a good banana bread! I made one just yesterday but didn’t add any extra ingredients, i’ve always been a little wary of taking away from the bananary goodness.

  3. March 4, 2012 10:56 am

    That looks amazing. I’m not a huge fan of dates, but I do think they add something to cakes and breads. I’m definitely going to try this – thanks for posting!

    • March 7, 2012 11:34 pm

      Thanks! I don’t love them on their own, but they work VERY well in this. I hope you do.

  4. March 4, 2012 11:07 am

    This looks so good. I love banana and dates, I always think they taste like banoffee together. A banoffee (banana and date) shake would go pefrectly with this.
    I’m going to send this recipe to my wife as she’s the banana bread baker in our house. Thanks for posting.
    Cheers
    Marcus

    • March 7, 2012 10:25 am

      I’m glad you like it, Marcus! Yes, I can see why you might think that actually. I hope your wife likes it!

  5. March 4, 2012 11:59 am

    Lovely, even banana haters like me usually enjoy banana bread – I know I do! Love the idea of including dates, very nice indeed.

  6. March 4, 2012 12:17 pm

    Very nice recipe. Does this recipe only work with ripe bananas? Because I can’t wait 😉

  7. March 4, 2012 12:20 pm

    I really like your addition of dates instead of bananas. Pass over the butter and slice me off a piece, please.

  8. March 4, 2012 1:51 pm

    I need to try this, I hate when bananas go to waste and this is a great solution 😉

  9. March 4, 2012 2:12 pm

    And here I was just staring at a pile of mushy bananas on the counter… Thanks!

  10. March 4, 2012 2:37 pm

    We are on a strong health kick here at present. One daughter on a diet, one doing karate and extreme fitness. Me training my ass off for a big cycle in May. The bananas never get to the brown stage. Damn it, because that loaf looks awesome. As ever, I love the budget approach.
    Best,
    Conor

    • March 7, 2012 10:22 am

      That’s a shame :D. My girlfriend is training for a big cycle in Spain in June/July. You’ll have to do it later in the year 😀

  11. March 4, 2012 3:43 pm

    My mouth is actually watering… wish I had some bananas left!

  12. March 4, 2012 4:46 pm

    Dates add such a lovely sweetness and texture to cakes – I’ve never tried them in banana bread but I’m definitely going to now 🙂

  13. March 4, 2012 4:51 pm

    i have baked banana bread many times but never with dates in them, what a fabulous idea!

  14. March 4, 2012 6:47 pm

    My son loves bananas in all their stages–green, yellow, spotted, even totally brown–so I never have any that go to waste. But that also means a lot less banana bread!

  15. March 4, 2012 7:12 pm

    Yum, the dates sound like a great addition to the traditional banana bread. One trick that I learned from my Cooks Illustrated cookbook is that over ripened bananas can be frozen until they are ready for use – great for the one straggler banana that’s not enough to bake with just yet.

  16. March 4, 2012 7:50 pm

    What a moist and delicious looking bread 😀
    Yum!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Traditional Lemon Meringue Tart

  17. katytruss permalink
    March 4, 2012 8:34 pm

    Your very first date?! Then you must try wrapping some bacon around them and them until all sticky and the bacon crispy! So good. I made banana bread last week, with olive oil instead of butter and a spoonful of peanut butter, pretty good!

    • March 7, 2012 11:31 pm

      Yep, my very first. I shall try that – it sounds incredible.

      • katytruss permalink
        March 8, 2012 7:43 am

        Dates wrapped in bacon are amazing! Just don’t forget to take out the stones and a nice thin wrapping of bacon to make sure its nice and crispy – sweet, sticky, smokey and salty! (hungry now!)

      • March 8, 2012 10:56 am

        thanks for the tips – I really must give it a whirl.

  18. March 4, 2012 9:16 pm

    I have a tub of dates in my pantry (a purchase from Costco of course) and have been looking for ways to use them up. This is perfect, and your pictures is making my mouth water. Great idea! thanks!

  19. March 4, 2012 9:30 pm

    I really like the addition of dates in the banana bread, I must this next time, I am sure it made the bread very moist and sweet.

  20. March 5, 2012 12:03 am

    Sweet idea. I love that you photograph on a wood table – I’ve taken to using my coffee table as a background and it makes the food pop. Happy eating.

  21. March 5, 2012 1:53 am

    What a great looking bread. I don’t like bananas, but love the smell of banana bread. Go figure.

    • March 7, 2012 10:17 am

      Thanks, Greg. I don’t like bananas either, except in stuff like this… and smoothies.

  22. March 5, 2012 2:37 am

    Wow, dates and banana bread?…now that you mention it…..thanks for a great idea!

  23. mayihavethatrecipe permalink
    March 5, 2012 3:34 am

    This looks great. I love dates. I appreciate any recipe that will help me use those bananas that no one wants to eat! I must try it!

  24. March 5, 2012 5:02 am

    This is definitely on my list to try, I love dates and the combination would be wonderful. I love the crack at the top! The crust must have such a lovely crunchy brown bits.. there I go, already craving a slice!

  25. March 5, 2012 5:15 am

    Great timing had 4 very ripe bananas givin too me yesterday..in the oven as I type, permissioin to share this recipe on my blog with a link back to you? Oh threw in a few macadamias as well!

  26. March 5, 2012 5:25 am

    Dates in banana bread – genius!

  27. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge permalink
    March 5, 2012 6:41 am

    Mmmmm, bread 🙂 Great idea. I’ve been wanting to do something with dates. Great pictures, by the way.

  28. Veronika permalink
    March 5, 2012 9:36 am

    You could calculate the value by adding all the rest of the ingredients and substituting the price of the bananas that would otherwise be wasted… but who’s counting?

    Banana bread is great. I really ought to try to make this without the egg whites (allergic boyfriend etc.), but I am one of those people who rarely buy bananas… perhaps I should, to let them go nearly-bad and then make this. But then it’d not be preventing anything, would it? 😉

    • March 7, 2012 10:14 am

      Well, I suppose so, but I don’t like to cheat :D. Sounds like a plan to me 😀

  29. March 5, 2012 10:58 am

    I love this recipe, bananas and dates – YUM!

  30. March 5, 2012 10:52 pm

    dates used to frighten me a bit as well; they’re an interesting addition to banana bread, but I’d be hard-pressed to willingly substitute anything for chocolate in a recipe! This sounds like a yummy combo though!

  31. March 5, 2012 11:56 pm

    This looks delicious. I can’t wait to try it. Thanks for the recipe.

  32. March 6, 2012 4:03 am

    Looks lovely! I wonder, could this recipe work as just date bread? I have lots of date in my cupboard but no bananas at the moment!

  33. March 7, 2012 2:28 am

    Yummy, yummy! The addition of the dates is super great. I usually put in walnuts, but now I want to try this!

  34. March 7, 2012 5:55 pm

    I have never tasted a banana bread with dates in them. I haven’t made a banana bread for ages, after I found out that I might be allergic to bananas. But I so wish I could have a piece of this bread- I love dates, and when I could eat bananas- I absolutely adored banana bread!

    • March 7, 2012 6:03 pm

      I’m sorry that you can’t! You should go and have a decisive test to understand whether you are definitely allergic to them!

  35. March 8, 2012 11:12 am

    Banana bread rocks! I make it quite often. Add dates to that, and you have yourselves a really yummy treat. Looks great.

  36. March 9, 2012 2:10 pm

    This looks uber good!!!!

  37. March 10, 2012 3:45 am

    loooove these flavour combinations!

  38. March 10, 2012 1:31 pm

    Great photo, yum I want to eat this with a big chunk of salty butter

  39. March 10, 2012 6:36 pm

    Baking with dates was a revelation for me, too – so sweet and sticky, but kind of good for you, too.

  40. April 4, 2012 6:44 pm

    YUMMY!! Going to have to try this one! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Happy Cooking!

  41. hookedontaste permalink
    April 22, 2012 8:15 pm

    I’ve been searching for banana bread recipes for a while and I can’t decide which one to try. I guess I’ll have to try them all. Your banana bread looks great and so easy to make. I never had dates before, so I know have to try this banana bread. Thanks for posting, I have officially booked marked this page.

    • April 26, 2012 12:02 am

      This one works very well! The dates work so well – I hope you give it a pop.

Trackbacks

  1. date and banana pudding loaf cake | barelypoppins
  2. Banana, dried apricots and walnut cake | Blue jellybeans
  3. Cake de guineo, nueces y orejones | Blue jellybeans
  4. why i am bigger mess than my room | *frog off the wall *

Leave a comment