Skip to content

Cider and Green Lentil Stew

January 25, 2012

In recent weeks my Grandfather has developed a penchant for divulging a number of his favourite Clement Freud anecdotes. His favourite story concerns a trip Freud made to Mexico. Whilst in Mexico, Freud thought he would sample the delights of a true Central American Chilli, something he soon regretted. After ordering ‘six bottled of beer in quick succession’, Freud advised the chef that it may be best to warn visitors about the deadly speciality. The chef replied that ‘the ratio [of chilli to meat] was about one to one.’ Had Freud wanted his chilli with only a little spice the chef said that ‘there was an American place just down the road.’ I think it’s rather a humorous little tale, though perhaps you’ll disagree if you are an American. Anyway, a deep interest on the writings of Freud developed within, and I asked to borrow my Grandfather’s copy of ‘Freud of Food’. To my delight I discovered that my taste in humour shared an even closer affinity to that of Freud’s, when I discovered a section entitled, ‘Give The Wife A Break’.

In Freud’s book I discovered a recipe which makes use of green lentils. As you all know, I’m rather reluctant to post recipes which have been devised by others. As such, I decided to run with the idea of green lentils, but make the recipe my own. At this point I remembered that cider goes perfectly in dishes like this, and purchased two bottles of fairly dry, strong apple cider – one for the dish, one for myself. One cannot emphasise enough the need for a fairly dry, if not very dry, cider in this recipe. You should really be aiming for at least 5.5% alcohol content. Cider which contains less alcohol generally isn’t what I would describe as cider. After all, cider is made with apples which contain a lot of sugar. Sugar is what determines the alcohol content of a drink. If it has an alcohol content of between 4% and 5%, then it hasn’t been fermented for long enough. I used a bottle of cider which dated back to 2010 and had an alcohol content of 8.2%  – that’s the proper stuff.

Cider and Green Lentil Stew

Serves 4

Ingredients:

• 250g green lentils

• 1 large carrot, roughly chopped

• 1 leek, sliced

• 1 onion, finely chopped

• 2 bay leaves

• A few sprigs of fresh thyme

• 500ml good quality apple cider (see above)

• 200ml vegetable stock

• A knob of butter (optional)

• Olive oil

• Salt and pepper

Method:

1. Begin by frying the onion and leek in a good slug of olive oil. Cook for 5 minutes before adding the carrot, cook for a further 2 minutes.

2. Stir in the green lentils, do not forget to rinse them. Pour in the cider and 100ml of the stock, before adding the bay leaves, thyme and butter. Simmer for 20-30 minutes, or until the lentils are to your personal taste. One may need to add the remaining vegetable stock before serving. Season to taste.

Cost: Lentils are ridiculously cheap, something I have purported any number of times. Since vegetables are also cheap, one can assume that such a dish will be rather easy on one’s wallet. Cider is probably the most expensive ingredient here, though it’s often on sale. Assuming that a bottle of dry cider will set you back no more than £1.80, at a high estimate, this meal should set one back no more than around £2.70.

 

73 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 6:13 pm

    Delicious. I think Sigmund would be quite proud of his grandson, don’t you? Absolutely enjoyed the way you set the scene for this particular dish. I think Sir Clement would be delighted… also with your choice of truly hard cider perhaps!

    • January 29, 2012 6:39 pm

      thanks! Oh yes, he would. I think this is one of my favourite blogs from a writing perspective.

  2. January 25, 2012 6:13 pm

    looks great – will have to try this.

  3. January 25, 2012 6:16 pm

    Everyone seems to be doing lentils! I’m making a peti sale tomorrow. This looks great!

  4. January 25, 2012 6:17 pm

    That’s petit sale

  5. January 25, 2012 6:30 pm

    I love reading your posts for the recipes and all the little British-isms! My grandmother was English–raised in Ipswich– and things like “a knob of butter” remind me of her. Cheers from across the pond. 🙂

  6. January 25, 2012 6:49 pm

    What a gorgeous recipe – have never cooked lentils with cider but can imagine the taste would be fantastic. And at least we can get good cider from Asturias here (although my Spanish partner prefers English – says it´s far superior!)

    • January 29, 2012 6:36 pm

      Thanks – you should. It was wonderful. I’ve tried Asturian cider, it was delicious – though perhaps not as good as the English stuff.

  7. January 25, 2012 6:49 pm

    This looks absolutely fantastic! I’ll definitely be making this.

  8. January 25, 2012 6:57 pm

    Great feature pic, FF. That is an amazing saucepan you cooked in. It looks like a dutch oven saucepan??! Is there such a thing?

    • January 29, 2012 6:36 pm

      Thanks! I wasn’t so sure to begin with. Yes, it is that sort of thing… I love it.

  9. January 25, 2012 7:22 pm

    I have to add my voice of congratulations here. Great writing. Great photography and the bonus of using budget ingredients. Given that the IMF now owns Ireland, I suspect I will need all the budget recipes I can get my hands on!
    Best,
    Conor

  10. January 25, 2012 8:27 pm

    Your soup looks delicious. I’ve never tried cider in a soup. Thanks for contacting me last week, it’s fun to be part of the blogger set.

  11. January 25, 2012 9:21 pm

    Love lentils and everything else about this recipe.

  12. January 25, 2012 9:25 pm

    I’ve never had hard cider so I can’t really begin to imagine the taste of this entire dish – but it LOOKS wonderful and I know you’d never feed us anything that wasn’t!

    • January 29, 2012 6:34 pm

      Oh my lord, get some! It is so good. Though, it may take you a few bottles to refine your taste! Of course I wouldn’t!

  13. January 25, 2012 10:00 pm

    I have been looking for a lentil recipe – may have to give this one a whirl. Thanks for sharing!

  14. January 25, 2012 10:10 pm

    Your stew looks delicious! I would also have loved to try the hot chili that Freud ate. (Even though I’m an American 😉 Would also like to hear a little about that chapter ‘Give The Wife a Break’ that you spoke of…

    • January 29, 2012 6:33 pm

      Thanks! To be honest, I don;t think I could handle it. I love the title of that chapter – so funny in a chauvinistic type of way 😀

  15. January 25, 2012 10:32 pm

    Your stew looks delicious! Dry cider and lentils, what a great combination!

  16. January 25, 2012 10:49 pm

    Hi, my name’s Greg and I’m an American. That’s so true about the American restaurants. If you want a Mexican place to serve it like they would to Mexicans, you have to tell them sometimes. It is a proven fact that the more North you go the more sensitive your hot-sensing taste buds are. I’m happy to represent the whole of North America today! Also, this stew looks great. Hi to Rufus.

    • January 29, 2012 6:32 pm

      Ah, that is unfortunate :D. Glad you like the look of this. To be honest, I couldn’t deal with a proper Mexican chili.

  17. January 25, 2012 10:51 pm

    Ha, while flitting between your blog and Natalie’s I just said hi to her dog. I resign my post as North American ambassador effective immediately. It’s clearly too much responsibility.

  18. Can't live without.... permalink
    January 25, 2012 11:35 pm

    it looks so comforting….love the rustic feel.

  19. January 26, 2012 12:25 am

    great. we have cider working in the basement but i am not sure it is ready yet so i will make this next year!! c

  20. January 26, 2012 12:39 am

    I wish good cider was easier to get and less pricey here in the States: I would love to use it in cooking. Maybe Cecilia will tell me how she pressed and fermented hers.

    • January 29, 2012 6:30 pm

      Ah, that is a shame. better not to use it at all, then. I think cider is relatively easy to make.

  21. January 26, 2012 2:33 am

    Love the look of this stew. Looks so warm and comforting. Perfect with a piece of crusty warm bread!

  22. January 26, 2012 5:09 am

    I’m offended by this story!!
    {yet delighted by the recipe}
    Okay, okay, I’m not really offended 🙂

  23. January 26, 2012 2:49 pm

    Super mix!

  24. January 26, 2012 3:19 pm

    This looks divine! What a beautiful and comforting, healthy dish. Makes me want to grab a spoon, reach in the picture and take a bite!

    • January 29, 2012 6:28 pm

      Thanks, that’s exactly why I made it – though it would make most drunk I expect :D. Don’t do that, it won’t work.

  25. January 26, 2012 8:44 pm

    I’ve never cooked lentils with cider before. I’ll have to give this a go. Thanks

  26. January 27, 2012 10:20 pm

    Oh, that looks yummy!

  27. January 27, 2012 11:42 pm

    Oh, the colours in those photos! Delightful!!

  28. January 28, 2012 12:39 am

    What a great idea to add cider to this! It probably adds that perfect amount of sweetness. Yum!

  29. January 28, 2012 6:29 am

    The green lentils in this dish look absolutely amazing. And I bet they taste divine. I really like this stew recipe.. It certainly is great for the cold weather 🙂

  30. January 28, 2012 12:09 pm

    Love stews and this looks like something I could eat all day…

  31. January 28, 2012 2:40 pm

    Hard cider and lentil, that’s a great idea. Your soup looks absolutely delicious and comforting.

  32. January 28, 2012 3:08 pm

    I got reccomended your blog by Kimby. As a fellow male food blogger, I’m very impressed! I’ve got a bottle of cider sitting in my fridge waiting for inspiration, and this is it – consider this recipe bookmarked.

  33. January 29, 2012 6:08 am

    i love this combination of green lentils and cider.. i bet the flavors all balance each other nicely .. so perfect for this cold weather!

  34. January 29, 2012 5:40 pm

    Found this post on Grannies weekend highlights. It looks so good … cider would give it beautiful flavour….and perfect for this frigid weekend!

    • January 29, 2012 6:01 pm

      Awesome! I’m so grateful that people link to my blog! It really does, especially if one uses a good, strong cider.

  35. February 6, 2012 9:17 pm

    Nice recipe and gorgeous photos. I’m envious! Also loving the low-cost theme.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Highlights – Noteworthy Articles by Fellow Bloggers – Jan 28, 2012 « Granny's Parlour
  2. Cider and Green Lentil Stew (by FrugalFeeding) « Mint Cuisine
  3. february senses. |

Leave a comment